Character Design : The Doctor Development

I’ve gone back to the drawing board and been utterly stuck there over the past week. I keep cycling through the themes and the more I explore them new themes arise! Today I put my foot down and decided that I am doing the space-esque theme. [Fig 01] displays some of the initial concepts I had. From this point on, I got a really heavy military feeling from my concepts (due to the huge buttons and the badges and straps).

At this point, I took inspiration from some of my initial concepts [Fig 02] and how I could apply colour to my character. I really didn’t want to step outside the boarders of red, black, green/yellow. Having such a restricted colour pallet, I found it difficult to apply colour and achieve the correct composition.

Before outlining my final concept I did a few more torso sketches [Fig 03]. I went back to the old man thing, I really can’t get it out of my head. But this character looks a lot more sinister without revealing any sort of age or identity.

The concept is there now, and I have begun modelling it as a way to force myself not to change my mind again. That being said, I won’t be uploading the final concept until I’ve tweaked a few areas (I’m terrible, I know).

Leave a comment